SkipNav
Press Release Detail
YNHH
    

Cultural Integration Oversight Committee to help integrate both campuses

How do two different hospitals — with distinct histories, cultures and traditions — become one?

"Finding common ground and building on one another's strengths is a good place to start," said Cindy von Beren, executive director, Catholic Heritage and Cultural Integration.

"Our most important tools are conversation, cooperation, coordination and collaboration. The missions of Yale-New Haven and Saint Raphael's have always been quite similar and we are building on our shared similarities," added von Beren, who is one of the committee leads for one of Yale-New Haven Hospital's newest committees, the Cultural Integration Oversight Committee (CIOC). Yollanda London, manager, Strategy Planning/Business Development, Ambulatory Services Division, is the other committee lead.

The CIOC began to meet in August, with representatives from both the Chapel Street (CSC) and the York Street (YSC) campuses. The group — which is co-chaired by Kevin Myatt, senior vice president, Human Resources, and James Staten, executive vice president, Finance — discusses and makes decisions concerning traditions, behaviors, similarities and differences between the once-separate hospitals and helps drive changes that will bring about a smooth integration over time.

Just as thousands of policies and job descriptions had to be standardized in advance of the September 12 integration, the committee is considering issues, large and small, on both campuses, some of which might change.

For example, YSC celebrates patient care associates in November; CSC has recognized clinical technicians in May. YSC raises the Donate Life flag in front of the York Street entrance whenever a family donates a loved one's organs; CSC sounds chimes every time a baby is born. The committee is also discussing community involvement and employee engagement.

"Do both campuses need to become exactly the same?" asked Myatt. "Absolutely not. Our goal is to integrate enough to feel and act like one hospital, without losing what makes each campus special."

Myatt and Staten encourage employees on both campuses to bring ideas, issues and concerns they would like discussed to committee members for consideration. "This group is a voice for employees and physicians as we work toward unifying our organization," said Staten.


Chapel Street Campus

Kathleen Bruenn, manager, Laboratory Medicine
kathleen.bruenn@ynhh.org
Judy Catalano, RN, manager, Customer Service and Guest Relations
judy.catalano@ynhh.org
Gary Kaml, MD, Trauma, Surgery
gary.kaml@ynhh.org
Celeste Milligan, Organizational Development
celeste.milligan@ynhh.org
Lenore Reilly, RN, patient service manager, MICU
lenore.reilly@ynhh.org
Ramo Rizvani, contract manager, Environmental Services
ramo.rizvani@ynhh.org
Enid Rodriguez, senior employee relations specialist, Workforce Development
enid.rodriguez@ynhh.org
Dorothy Ventriglio, assistant director, Outreach Services
dorothy.ventriglio@ynhh.org
Cindy von Beren, executive director, Catholic Heritage and Cultural Integration
cindy.vonberen@ynhh.org

York Street Campus

Michael Bennick, MD, medical director, Patient Experience, and associate chief, Medicine
michael.bennick@ynhh.org
Sue Fitzsimons, RN, PhD, senior vice president, Patient Services 
sue.fitzsimons@ynhh.org
Jeannette Hodge, director, Patient Relations, Volunteer and Guest Services
jeannette.hodge@ynhh.org
Yollanda London, manager, Strategy Planning/Business Development, Ambulatory Services Division
yollanda.london@ynhh.org
Cathy Lyons, RN, clinical program director, Oncology Nursing
cathy.lyons@ynhh.org
Dorinda Manner, senior employee relations specialist, Employee Relations 
dorinda.manner.@ynhh.org
Jay Morris, vice president, Education, and executive director, Institute for Excellence
jay.morris@ynhh.org
Katie Murphy, associate director, Marketing and Communications
katie.murphy@ynhh.org
Vincent Petrini, senior vice president, Public Affairs
vincent.petrini@ynhh.org
David Wurcel, vice president, Corporate Business Services
david.wurcel.@ynhh.org
 
Yale-New Haven Hospital news release
ynhhpublicrelations@ynhh.com

Yale-New Haven Hospital is a nationally recognized, 1,541-bed, not-for-profit hospital serving as the primary teaching hospital for the Yale School of Medicine. Yale-New Haven was founded as the fourth voluntary hospital in the U.S. in 1826. Today, the hospital's two New Haven-based inpatient campuses include Yale-New Haven Children's Hospital, Yale-New Haven Psychiatric Hospital and Smilow Cancer Hospital. YNHH has a combined medical staff of about 4,500 university and community physicians practicing in more than 100 specialties. YNHH's York Street campus and associated ambulatory sites are Magnet-designated by the American Nurses Credentialing Center.

Contact Us

ynhhpublicrelations@ynhh.org



Yale School of Medicine
Magnet Recognition Best Hospitals 2012-2013

Video Library

Video Library