Two earn advanced-practice nursing scholarships

At a special ceremony Sept 13, two Yale New Haven Hospital employees received scholarships to pursue advanced nursing degrees. The scholarships are named for Marna P. Borgstrom, CEO, Yale New Haven Health System, and Peter N. Herbert, MD, executive director, Physician Referral Services, and former chief medical officer, YNHH. Borgstrom, Herbert and Ena Williams, RN, chief nursing officer, YNHH, presented the scholarships, awarded annually to employees working toward licensure and certification as an advanced practice registered nurse. The scholarships are funded by the late Dr. Milton and Betty Ruth Hollander. Betty Ruth, a longtime YNHH trustee, was also a hospital patient grateful for her nurses’ skill and kindness. From left are Dr. Herbert; scholarship winners Raji Maddela, Emergency Department technical associate, and Megan Gagné Metheny, RN, Surgical Intensive Care Unit (SP 6-1); Borgstrom; Williams; and Aaron Hollander, the Hollanders’ son.