Skip to main content
Find a DoctorGet Care Now
Skip to main content
Search icon magnifying glass







Chief of psychiatry at YNHH earns national recognition for work on schizophrenia

The American College of Psychiatrists presented awards last month to six mental health professionals responsible for advancing psychiatry. Among those honored was John H. Krystal, MD, who is the Robert L. McNeil Jr. Professor of Translational Research and Chair of the Department of Psychiatry of the Yale University School of Medicine and Chief of Psychiatry at Yale New Haven Hospital.

The awards ceremony took place at The College's Annual Meeting in Fort Lauderdale, Fla., Feb. 27

Krystal received the Stanley Dean Research Award, which honors an individual who has had a major impact on the treatment of schizophrenic disorders. Dr. Krystal's seminal contribution to the field was the development of the "ketamine model," an approach that highlighted the role of NMDA receptors in cognition and behavior and guided the development and testing of promising new approaches to the neurobiology and treatment of schizophrenia.

Among the others recognized were Robert Cancro, MD, New York University Medical Center; Ranga R. Krishnan MD, Duke-NUS Graduate Medical School; Robert M. A. Hirschfeld, MD, the University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston; Francisco Fernandez, MD, University of South Florida College of Medicine; and Alan I. Leshner, PhD, chief executive officer of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and Executive Publisher of Science.