Skip to main content
Find a DoctorGet Care Now
Skip to main content
Search icon magnifying glass







Hugh S. Taylor, MD, named chief of OB/GYN at Yale New Haven

10/23/2012 — Hugh S. Taylor, MD, has been named chair of the department of obstetrics, gynecology and reproductive sciences at Yale School of Medicine (YSM) and chief of obstetrics and gynecology at Yale New Haven Hospital (YNHH).

Dr. Taylor, a resident of Easton, CT, was previously chief of reproductive endocrinology and infertility at YNHH and professor and vice-chair of obstetrics, gynecology and reproductive sciences at YSM. Under his leadership, the section of reproductive endocrinology and infertility established itself as a national leader.

A graduate of Yale College and the University of Connecticut School of Medicine, he completed his residency at YNHH, followed by a postdoctoral fellowship in molecular biophysics and biochemistry at Yale and a fellowship in reproductive endocrinology and infertility.

"Dr. Taylor is well known to the Yale medical community, said Robert J. Alpern, MD, Dean and Ensign Professor of Medicine at Yale School of Medicine. "He brings an outstanding record of accomplishment as a clinician, educator and researcher." His research has been continuously funded by the NIH for more than 20 years."

"Dr. Taylor is an active clinician who is highly regarded by practicing physicians in the community and by physicians on the full-time faculty," said Marna P. Borgstrom, CEO, Yale New Haven Hospital. "As chief of reproductive endocrinology and infertility, Dr. Taylor has successfully grown the clinical capability and geographic reach of this critical service."

Dr. Taylor is the editor-in-chief of the journal Reproductive Sciences and editor of Endocrinology. He serves on the board of directors of the American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASRM), where he is president-elect of the endometriosis interest group and on the governing council of the Society for Gynecologic Investigation (SGI). Dr. Taylor received the prestigious President's Achievement Award from SGI in 2008.

Dr. Taylor has been recognized as Mentor of the Year by the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists and as Honoree of the Year by the Endometriosis Foundation of America. He has received multiple research awards from ASRM, SGI and the Endocrine Society.

Yale New Haven Hospital (YNHH), part of Yale New Haven Health, is a nationally recognized, 1,541-bed, not-for-profit hospital serving as the primary teaching hospital for the Yale School of Medicine (YSM). Founded as the fourth voluntary hospital in the U.S. in 1826, today, YNHH has two New Haven-based campuses, and also includes Yale New Haven Children's Hospital, Yale New Haven Psychiatric Hospital and Smilow Cancer Hospital. YNHH has received Magnet designation from the American Nurses Credentialing Center, the nation’s highest honor of nursing excellence. YNHH has a combined medical staff of about 4,500 university and community physicians practicing in more than 100 specialties.