Skip to main content
Find a DoctorGet Care Now
Skip to main content
Search icon magnifying glass







Ten practices achieve NCQA Level 3 Patient-Centered Medical Home recognition

ncqaTen additional Northeast Medical group practices have achieved Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) recognition by the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA), bringing the number of NEMG practices that are medical homes to 22. In July, these practices applied for recognition with NCQA, a nationally-recognized organization that is the most widely-used way to transform primary care practices into medical homes. NCQA offers three levels of PCMH recognition. Level 3 is the highest level.

As defined by the NCQA, the patient-centered medical home is a way of organizing primary care that emphasizes care coordination and communication to transform primary care into "what patients want it to be." Medical homes help improve the experience of care and the health of populations, plus reduce per capita costs of health care. To achieve PCMH recognition the practices had to show NCQA:  Care is coordinated among all a patient's doctors, patients are partners in decisions about their care, patients have better access through expanded hours, and the medical team helps prevent health problems and manage chronic conditions to keep patients' healthy. 

Congratulations to the physicians, advanced practice clinicians and the medical team at the practices below who helped achieve Level 3 NCQA Patient-Centered Medical Home recognition.

  • Internal Medicine, Trumbull:  Guido Napolitano, MD, Arnold Peterson, MD and Jaime Ruszkowski, MD
  • Family and Internal Medicine, Shelton:  Domenic Casablanca, MD, Paul Mikan, MD, Lenore M. Snowden-Opalak, MD and Nicole M. Esposito, PA
  • Family and Internal Medicine, Stratford:  Michael J. Connolly, MD and R. Scott Prewitt, MD
  • Southern Connecticut Internal Medicine, New Haven:  David Antonetti, MD, Vanessa Arteaga-Chen, PA, Urvi D. Gandhi, MD, Samuel A. Geller, MD, PhD, Lee Jung, MD, Judy Kleinstein, MD, Charles R. Park, PA, and Edward A. Prior, MD
  • Family Practice Associates, Guilford and Centerbrook:  Jay R. Humphrey, PA, Sarah C. Kellogg, APRN, Pamela M. Murphy, DO, Sarah Smith Gerritz, MD, Alan Weiss, MD, and Judith M. Weiss-Rivera, MD
  • Family Medicine, Bridgeport:  Jennifer M. Ju, MD 
  • Family Medicine, Trumbull:  Bhawna Gupta, MD 
  • Internal Medicine, Fairfield:  Jolanta E. Lukawski, MD 
  • Internal Medicine, Norwalk:  Pamela Jackson, MD 
  • Internal Medicine, Greenwich:  Rebecca Newman, MD, Kiyoko Karen Tomita, MD and Chaula K. Vora, MD
To learn more about PCMH recognition, visit the NCQA website.

Yale New Haven Hospital (YNHH), part of Yale New Haven Health, is a nationally recognized, 1,541-bed, not-for-profit hospital serving as the primary teaching hospital for the Yale School of Medicine (YSM). Founded as the fourth voluntary hospital in the U.S. in 1826, today, YNHH has two New Haven-based campuses, and also includes Yale New Haven Children's Hospital, Yale New Haven Psychiatric Hospital and Smilow Cancer Hospital. YNHH has received Magnet designation from the American Nurses Credentialing Center, the nation’s highest honor of nursing excellence. YNHH has a combined medical staff of about 4,500 university and community physicians practicing in more than 100 specialties.