Skip to main content
Find a DoctorGet Care Now
Skip to main content
Search icon magnifying glass







lab awards

Laboratory presents awards

Laboratory Medicine recently presented three annual awards to dedicated staff members. Karen Scorel, point of care and blood gas coordinator, received the ROSE (Recognition of Outstanding Service and Esprit de corps) Award for exceptional service, commitment and dedication. Cindy Bourt, phlebotomist, Smilow Cancer Care Center, Trumbull, earned the Rookie of the Year Award, given to a staff member with five or fewer years of service for exceptional contributions to the department. Dulce Amor Digal, Chemistry Laboratory evening shift coordinator, earned the department’s first annual Great Catch Award for exceptional work to improve patient safety. The awards are presented annually during National Medical Laboratory Professionals Week. Attending the awards ceremony were, front row (l-r): Rita Napierkowski, laboratory regulatory/compliance specialist, Scorel, Bourt and Digal; and back row (l-r): David Strongin, Laboratory Services director; and Brian Smith, MD, chief, Laboratory Medicine.